Course Outline

BTEC Level 3 National Diploma in Health and Social Care embodies a fundamentally learner centred approach to the curriculum, with a flexible, unit based structure and knowledge applied in project based assessments. They focus on the holistic development of the practical, interpersonal and thinking skills required to be able to succeed in employment and higher education.

Health and Social Care

A number of topics are studied including 6 mandatory units and 2 optional units including:

  • Human Lifespan Development Working in Health and Social Care
  • Enquiries into Current Research in Health and Social Care
  • Sociological Perspectives
  • Meeting Individual Care and Support Needs
  • Principles of Safe Practice in Health and Social Care
  • Psychological Perspectives
  • Promoting Public Health
  • Meeting Individual Care and Support Needs

The BTEC National Diploma is equivalent to two A Levels and use a combination of assessment styles to give students the confidence they can apply their knowledge to succeed in this this subject.

Entrance requirements and skills needed

The course is practical and you will need to have independent learning skills as well as working with others, be able to research, plan and organising your work and be able to meet clear deadlines. Health and Social Care lessons incorporate a range of activities including case studies, group work, discussions, presentations, role play and using ICT applications.

Why study Health & Social Care BTEC

This subject is ideal for students wishing to go into the following fields: Medical including nursing, Ambulance paramedic or technician, Health visitor, Midwife, Social Services including Youth worker, Social worker, Education Welfare Officer, Teaching.


Assessments - Pearson Qualification


The department staff will assess your work and you will be given a final grade, that will be equivalent to A Levels and which have UCAS points. The grades range from Distinction*Distinction* (equivalent to A*A* at A Level) to Double Pass (equivalent to CC).

The assessments are divided into 3 types;

  • 2 externally assessed exams,
  • 1 externally assessed written task and
  • 8 units with internally assessed coursework tasks. Coursework can include written assignment work, team working activities and presentations.



Search the site

Latest OfSTED Inspection Report


6th Form Application Form








Copyright 2019  Highams Park School.
Highams Park Academy Trust is a charitable company limited by guarantee registered in England and Wales with registered number 07738801
[and VAT registered number 119-0793-09] and whose registered office is at Highams Park School Handsworth Avenue, Highams Park, London, E4 9PJ.
Mobile Site